

Minutes of a Committee of the Whole Meeting Oakton Community College Board of Trustees August 16, 2022

A Committee of the Whole meeting of the Board of Trustees of Oakton Community College, District 535 was held on August 16, 2022 in Room 1506 at 1600 East Golf Road, Des Plaines, Illinois, 60016.

Call to Order and Roll Call

Chair Kotowski called the meeting to order at 4:09 p.m. Trustee Bush called the roll:

Mr. Paul Kotowski	Chair	Present
Dr. Wendy Yanow	Vice Chair	Present
Dr. Gail Bush	Secretary	Present
Ms. Martha Burns		Absent for roll call
Mr. Benjamin Salzberg		Present
Mr. William Stafford		Absent
Ms. Marie Lynn Toussaint		Present
Mr. Akash Patel	Student Trustee	Absent

Also present in Room 1506:

<u>Leadership</u>: Dr. Joianne Smith, President; Dr. Ileo Lott; Provost/Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs; Dr. Karl Brooks, CSSO/Vice President for Student Affairs; Dr. Colette Hands, CHRO; Dr. Kelly Becker, AVP of Institutional Effectiveness and Strategic Planning; Ms. Juletta Pippen, AVP Student Affairs/Dean of Access, Equity and Diversity.

Administrators: John Wade, Director of Systems & Network Services.

<u>Staff</u>: Beatriz Sparks, Special Assistant to the Board; Philip Cronin, Jonathan McFarlane, and Carlos Velasquez Rodriguez (Media Services); Rani Edassery, Matt Wong, Sam Pudi, Gaya Lasam, Manish Varma and J Byrd (Information Technology).

Technology Training

Trustees were provided with Oakton issued laptops and given an overview of collaborations tools from the Google Suite including of the use of an Oakton email address in order to conduct College-related business. Beatriz Sparks provided and overview of the BoardEffect platform for meeting materials.

Adjournment

Chair Kotowski asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Trustee Yanow made the motion, which was seconded by Trustee Salzberg. A voice vote was called and the meeting was adjourned at 5:23 p.m.

Paul Kotowski, Board Chair

Minutes recorded by: Beatriz Sparks 8/2022

Gail Bush, Board Secretary