

Minutes of Joint Meeting of the Oakton Community College Board of Trustees and the Educational Foundation Board of Directors September 20, 2022

A joint meeting of the Board of Trustees of Oakton Community College and the Educational Foundation Board of Directors was held on September 20, 2022 in Room 1610 at 1600 East Golf Road, Des Plaines, Illinois, 60016.

Call to Order and Roll Call

Chair Kotowski called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. Trustee Bush called the roll:

Mr. Paul Kotowski	Chair	Present
Dr. Wendy Yanow	Vice Chair	Present
Dr. Gail Bush	Secretary	Present
Ms. Martha Burns	·	Absent
Mr. Benjamin Salzberg		Absent
Mr. William Stafford		Present
Ms. Marie Lynn Toussaint		Present
Mr. Akash Patel	Student Trustee	Absent

Also present in Room 1610:

<u>Leadership</u>: Dr. Joianne Smith, President; Ms. Katherine Sawyer, Chief Advancement Officer; Dr. Ileo Lott, Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs; and Dr. Kelly Becker, Assistant Vice President of Institutional Effectiveness and Strategic Planning.

<u>Administrators</u>: Richard Van Hees, Director of Major and Planned Giving; and Linda Korben, Dean of Liberal Arts.

<u>Educational Foundation Board of Directors Members</u>: Murray Sprung, Carl Costanza, Ruben Howard, August Schaefer, Jeff Coney, and Kate Gallagher.

<u>Staff</u>: Beatriz Sparks, Special Assistant to the Board; Kristin Keramidas, Educational Foundation; Keya Graves, Educational Foundation; Cheryl Valloni, Educational Foundation; Maurae Gilbert McCants, Educational Foundation; Nathan Harpaz, Art Museum Manager; Jonathan McFarlane, Media Services.

Oakton Art Collection

The College has an impressive collection of fine art which has grown to more than 4,000 pieces since 1980, and is valued at over \$6 million.

The Art Collection is owned by the Oakton Educational Foundation, and in 2020 the Foundation's leadership felt it was time to gain a better understanding of this valuable asset, and review the policies, procedures and practices surrounding the Collection, so a team was formed in fall of 2020 to undertake this work.

The presentation summarized the Sub-Committees work over nearly two years. Dean of Liberal Arts Linda Korbel and Dr. Nathan Harpaz, manager and curator of our Koehnline Museum, provided an overview of Oakton's Art Collection. Kristin Keramidas provided information about the work done by the art sub-committee with policies and procedures, gift acceptance process for works of art, artwork siting and storage practices, insurance coverage, financial accounting and reporting, and ownership.

Art Collection Transfer Recommendation

Art collection ownership varies by institution, but in most cases, collections are owned by their educational institutions. And regardless of collection ownership, the educational foundations are responsible for in-kind gift acceptance, in accordance with their primary roles of resource development, donor cultivation, and donor stewardship.

The question of ownership was not top-of-mind for the sub-committee at the outset, but as their work progressed, it became clear that transferring ownership of the Collection from the Foundation to the College was a smart move. The Foundation does not retain or own any other physical assets that are gifted for use by the College, and is better positioned to focus on cultivating and managing the financial resources in our care.

Therefore, the art sub-committee recommends that the Collection moves from Foundation ownership to College ownership, and that the Foundation continues to handle gift acceptance of in-kind art donations, including receipting and stewarding of donors.

9/22-1 Approval of Agreement to Assign and Transfer Art Collection

Trustee Bush offered: "Be it resolved that the Board of Trustees of Community College District 535 approves the Agreement to Assign and Transfer Art Collection, attached hereto, between Oakton Community College District 535 and the Oakton Community College Educational Foundation."

Trustee Stafford seconded the motion. Trustee Bush called the roll:

Dr. Bush Aye
Mr. Kotowski Aye
Mr. Stafford Aye
Ms. Toussaint Aye
Dr. Yanow Aye

The motion carried.

The Educational Foundation Board of Directors also voted in favor of the resolution.

Adjournment

Chair Kotowski asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Trustee Yanow made the motion, which was seconded by Trustee Bush. A voice vote was called and the meeting was adjourned at 4:51 p.m.

Paul Kotowski. Board Chair

Gail Bush, Board Secretary

Minutes recorded by: Beatriz Sparks 9/2022